Skip to main content


Title: Policy and practice for the protection of groundwater - Thames region appendix
Author: Environment Agency Thames Region
Document Type: Monograph
This is one of ten appendices to the Environment Agency's "Policy and Practice for the Protection of groundwater" (NRA 1992). Its purpose is to give consideration to matters specific to Thames Region which are not included in the national document. The regional appendices should be read in conjunction with the main document. Thames Region comprises the main drainage basin of the River Thames and its tributaries. Major sub-catchments include the Colne, Lee, Kennet, Wey and London. The Region covers an area of more than 12000km2 with a population of over 12 million. 11 counties and 78 districts and boroughs lie fully or partly within the Thames Region catchment boundary. Much of the Region, particularly in the west, is rural in character, where the dominant land-use is agricultural. Population density in the Region, however, is high and there are many important urban areas with long histories of industrial development. The resulting economic and social considerations can present particular pressures regarding protection of groundwater.
Publisher: Environment Agency
Publication Date: 1997
Publication Place: [Reading]
Subject Keywords: GroundwaterWater resourcesEnvironmental managementEnvironmental planningCatchment managementRivers
Geographic Keywords: ThamesThames (tidal) catchment
Extent: 11; + tables, figures
Total file downloads: 285

Download PDF    Display PDF in separate tab