Skip to main content


Title: Douglas catchment management plan : second annual review : July 1998
Author: Environment Agency
Document Type: Monograph
The Environment Agency began its work of managing the environment in England and Wales on 1st. April 1996. The Agency has responsibilities for the environmental protection of water, land and air. The Douglas Catchment Management Plan was initiated by a predecessor authority, the National Rivers Authority. This Second Annual Review of the plan therefore deals with the management and protection of the water environment. The River Douglas rises high on Rivington Moor in the eastern part of the catchment and flows approximately 37 km, before joining the River Ribble 8 km west of Preston. The catchment drains an area of 456 square kilometres. Three major tributaries join the Douglas: The River Tawd which rises in the south west corner of the catchment. The Tawd drains Skelmersdale and the associated new town development; The River Lostock which rises in the north east corner. The Lostock receives drainage from Leyland and flows through intensively grazed farmland and subsequently joins the River Yarrow; The River Yarrow, principally a rural river, rises east of Chorley and joins the River Douglas in its tidal reaches.
Publisher: Environment Agency
Publication Date: 1998
Publication Place: South Preston
Subject Keywords: Catchment Management Plans; Environmental management; Rivers; Water quality; Biodiversity; Flood control; Environmental impact; Land use; River ecosystem classification; Land use
Geographic Keywords: Douglas (Lancashire); Yarrow (Lancashire); Lostock (Lancashire); Tawd (Lancashire); Lancashire; Douglas catchment
Extent: 29
Total file downloads: 0

Download PDF    Display PDF in separate tab