Skip to main content


Title: East of England snapshot
Author: Environment Agency Anglian Region
Document Type: Monograph
This "Snapshot" from November 2001 presents the efforts of the Environment Agency in the East of England to protect and manage water resources. The East of England Region comprises six Counties and four Unitary Authorities. It extends from the Wash to the Thames and from the Norfolk/Suffolk coast to Bedford, covering more than 19,000 square kilometres. Although over 5 million people live in the area there are no major urban conurbations. The region is largely characterised by a small number of cathedral cities and many market and county towns, serving extensive rural hinterlands of villages and hamlets. There are also a significant number of post-war new settlements, particularly in the southern part of the region where suburban settlements also exist on the outer fringes of London. This region has one of the fastest growing populations in the United Kingdom. There are a number of areas where growth is concentrated and/or the potential for major new development is being examined. The region also aspires to be one of the top twenty wealthiest regions in Europe by the year 2010. This will need to be delivered in a sustainable way. The East of England has large areas of flat, low lying land, a quarter of which is below sea level. It is also the driest region in the country. Agriculture has a considerable influence over the rural economy and community, with 58% of the most productive agricultural land in England and Wales found in this region.
Publisher: Environment Agency
Publication Date: 2001
Publication Place: Peterborough
Subject Keywords: Environment AgencyEnvironmental managementSustainable developmentQuality of lifeNature conservationWater qualityClimate change
Geographic Keywords: EA AnglianEast Anglia
Extent: 24
Total file downloads: 246

Download PDF    Display PDF in separate tab