Skip to main content


Title: About the North West region : factfile
Author: National Rivers Authority North West Region
Document Type: Monograph
This brief National Rivers Authority leaflet from the North West Region gives details about the North West region. The area covered by the National Rivers Authoritys North West Region is bounded in the north by the Scottish border, in the east by the Pennines, by mid Cheshire in the south and by the Irish Sea to the West. The major centres of population and industry are in the Merseyside and Greater Manchester conurbations. These areas, industrialised since the 19th century, have inherited a legacy of pollution. Further north, the counties of Lancashire and Cumbria include areas of outstanding natural beauty, such as the Lake District National Park and Bowland Fells. The region has some of the most fertile land in the country in the coastal plains around Formby, Southport and Blackpool and in the Central Cheshire plain. The land in these areas often lies below high tide level, so that pumped drainage systems and sea defences are necessary.
Publisher: National Rivers Authority
Publication Date: [before 1996]
Publication Place: Warrington
Subject Keywords: National / Regional unitsNational Rivers AuthorityPublic servicesInformation dissemination
Extent: n.p. [2]
Total file downloads: 337

Download PDF    Display PDF in separate tab