Skip to main content


Title: Derwent and Cumbria coast catchment management plan : action plan : September 1995
Author: National Rivers Authority North West Region
Document Type: Monograph
The rivers, lakes, estuaries and coastal waters of England and Wales are subject to large and rapidly increasing demands from the users of water. Many different uses interact or compete for water and these may come into conflict with one another. The N.R.A. is the major regulator of the water environment in England and Wales and plays a role in reconciling conflicts between water users. The catchment comprises almost 1600km2 and includes the rivers Annas, Mite, Esk, Irt, Ehen, Calder, Derwent and Ellen and all their tributaries as well as associated coastal waters. There are eight major lakes within the catchment: Bassenthwaite Lake, Derwentwater, Loweswater, Crummock Water, Buttermere, Ennerdale Water, Wastwater and Thirlmere Reservoir. The catchment lies within the County of Cumbria, and the majority of the catchment is administered by the Lake District National Park Planning Board, who are responsible for all planning activities within the park area. The strategic planning framework for the catchment is laid out in the Cumbria and Lake District Joint Structure Plan which seeks to respect the long term quality of the County.
Publisher: National Rivers Authority
Publication Date: 1995
Publication Place: Carlisle
Subject Keywords: Catchment Management Plans; Rivers; Coasts; Land use; Water quality; Environmental planning; Catchment management; River fisheries; Nature conservation; Flood control; Recreation
Geographic Keywords: Cumbria; Derwent (NW) catchment; Derwent (Cumbria)
Extent: 26
Total file downloads: 0

Download PDF    Display PDF in separate tab