Skip to main content


Title: Fisheries fact file (1/9)
Author: Environment Agency Thames Region
Document Type: Monograph
England and Wales are divided into eight Environment Agency regions. Thames Region is responsible for the protection of a 13,000 square km area of great diversity. The Region extends from Cirencester in the west to Southend in the east and from Luton in the north to the Surrey Downs in the south. Because this area contains a fifth of the nations population, development pressures and demands on natural resources, particularly water, are greater than elsewhere in England and Wales. Thames Region is subdivided into three areas (West, North East and South East) which are the first point of contact for local issues. Fisheries, the subject of this leaflet, is one of the Agency key responsibilities. The others - Conservation, Environmental Quality, Flood Defence, Navigation, Recreation, Water Resources, Waste Regulation and Integrated Pollution Control are covered in separate leaflets.
Publisher: Environment Agency
Publication Date: [after 1996]
Publication Place: Reading
Subject Keywords: Inland fisheriesFishing rightsFishing licensesFishery managementFreshwater fishes
Geographic Keywords: ThamesEA South East
Extent: n.p. [6]
Total file downloads: 311

Download PDF    Display PDF in separate tab